Suggested Reading
Dave Connis

Suggested Reading

Regular price $17.99 $0.00 Unit price per

400 pages | Hardcover

In this hilarious and thought-provoking contemporary teen standalone that’s perfect for fans of Moxie, bookworm Clara Evans finds a way to fight back when her school bans dozens of classic and meaningful books.

Eleanor and ParkThe Perks of Being a WallflowerTheir Eyes Were Watching God. These are just a few of the books at Lupton Academy that are now considered “prohibited media.” A passionate reader who loves staying up all night to highlight the best lines in her favorite novels, Clara Evans is horrified when she discovers the titles on the principal’s hit list are being taken out of circulation at the school library. In fact, the books aren’t allowed anywhere on the school’s premises, and students caught with the contraband will be sternly punished.

Many of these stories have changed Clara’s life, so she’s not going to sit back and watch while her draconian principal, Mr. Walsh, abuses his power. She’s going to strike back.

With the help of her friend and student body president, LiQui, Clara starts an underground library—the UnLib—in her locker, doing a shady trade in titles like Speak and The Chocolate War. But when one of the UnLib books she loves most is connected to a tragedy she never saw coming, Clara’s forced to face her role in it. Will she be able to make peace with her conflicting feelings, or is fighting for this noble cause too tough for her to bear?


Share this Product


x