A Literary Year Ends; A New One Begins (Part 1)

2014 has been a great year for books!

From literary fiction and fantasy, to YA, NA and memoirs, even essays and humorous tales; our staff has certainly enjoyed a wonderful year of literature.  As obsessive fans of the written word, we tend to zealously recommend the books we love.

Here are some of our top choices for 2014.

Delacorte Press

Delacorte Press

 Goodreads Choice Awards, Best Young Adult Book of the Year

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

St. Martin’s Press

Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going, and Where the Hell are My Keys?

Hilarious and heartfelt observations on aging from one of America’s favorite comedians as he turns 65, and a look back at a remarkable career.

A youthful 65, with eternity on his mind – A new semi-autobiography by the comic actor is a poignant look at a lifelong love and the absurdities of aging.

              – CBS Sunday Morning

Alfred A. Knopf

Alfred A. Knopf

Goodreads Choice Awards, Best Horror Book of the Year

A stunning departure, a surprising and compelling return…From Anne Rice, perennial best seller, single-handed reinventor of the vampire cosmology–a new, exhilarating novel, a deepening of her vampire mythology, and a chillingly hypnotic mystery-thriller.

“Rice retakes her throne as Queen of the Damned . . . visceral and gritty . . . Prince Lestat infuses new life into the Vampire Chronicles and sets the stage for a new era.”

January Magazine

Random House

Random House

New York Times Best Seller

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY FINANCIAL TIMES AND LIBRARY JOURNAL

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Forbes raves that Creativity, Inc. “just might be the business book ever written.”

St. Martin's Press

St. Martin’s Press

  •  Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Goodreads Choice Awards, Best Fiction Book of the Year

“Her characters are instantly lovable … adult fans will love Rowell’s return to a story close to their hearts.”
– Kirkus

“Reading her work feels like listening to your hilariously insightful best friend tell her best stories.”
— Library Journal, starred review

“Rowell is talented enough to be uncategorizable. So Landline belongs to a genre of its very own.”
Janet Maslin, The New York Times

Dey St.

Dey St.

Goodreads Choice Awards, Best Humor Book of the Year

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious.

Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book is full of words to live by.

We hope you’ve read and experienced some fantastic books this past year!  Be on the look out for Part 2 of this post, in which we will feature  the “Must-Reads of 2015”.

Happy New Year!

One comment on “A Literary Year Ends; A New One Begins (Part 1)”

  1. I reallyyyyyy want to read Landline; I have it on my bookshelf but still haven’t gathered up the courage to read it (I adore Rainbow’s books but haven’t had the time). Also want to read Yes, Please. Wonderful choices! It’s awesome that The Bookmark has a blog now; I hadn’t known! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *